About The Stotesbury Cup Regatta Presented by Toyota


The Stotesbury Cup Regatta has been held continuously since 1927. Edward T. Stotesbury, a local philanthropist, was urged by members of the Philadelphia rowing community to underwrite the cost of an award to serve as the ultimate goal for scholastic rowing: winning the Boys Senior Eight race. The first Stotesbury Cup was won by Philadelphia’s West Catholic High School. Women began rowing in the Stotesbury Cup Regatta in 1974 with the Girls’ Senior Eight competition. The first winner of that race was St. Andrew’s School of Delaware. Today young women make up more than 50 percent of the rowers at the regatta. Over the years, races and trophies have been added to the regatta, culminating in today’s 31 championship events. What began as a local Philadelphia “Cup Race” quickly evolved into a full-fledged regatta that today endures as the largest high school rowing regatta in the world. Exceptionally fine crews from all part of the United States and Canada travel to the Schuylkill River in Philadelphia to participate in the Stotesbury Cup Regatta. Over 5,000 competitors meet at the Athletes Village to experience both the spirit of rowing competition as well as the physical challenge of pitting themselves against the very finest crews rowing at the high school level. Their achievements draw a crowd of nearly 10,000 spectators.

The Schuylkill Navy

The Schuylkill Navy of Philadelphia is a non-profit organization that includes the eleven rowing clubs located on Boathouse Row on Kelly Drive in Philadelphia PA. Founded in 1858, it is the oldest amateur athletic governing body in the United States.

The Regatta Organizing Committee

The Stotesbury Cup Regatta Committee is an all-volunteer committee. Members represent all walks of life: business professionals, educators, retirees, college students, rowers both past and present, and USRowing accredited referees.

The Regatta Coaches Committee

Coaches are a key part of the Regatta. The Stotesbury Cup Regatta Coaches Committee is composed of coaches from a diverse group of schools that participate in the Regatta. The Coaches Committee provides input and consultation to the Regatta Organizing Committee, the Regatta Director and Schuylkill Navy officers.

Jeremy Michalitsianos Montclair High School jeremymichalitsianos@hotmail.com
Tim Ulsaker Mathews High School crucoach@3bubbas.com
Gretchen Abell Georgetown Visitation Prep gretchenabell@hotmail.com
Antoinette Calimag Harriton High School harritoncoach@yahoo.com
Chris Chase Saratoga High School chaserow1@gmail.com
Megan Kennedy Mount Saint Joseph Academy mountcrew@gmail.com
Cathy Coffman Albemarle High School coffmancathy63@gmail.com